Race Recap – Desert Leprechaun 2024

Race Recap – Desert Leprechaun 2024

What an amazing and beautiful morning we had in downtown Tucson today for the 2nd ever in-person, Desert Leprechaun event by the Southern Arizona Roadrunners. Registration exploded over the last few weeks and due to that we ended up running out of shirts for the 5K folks. We will try to do a better job of estimating the turn out next year!

Thanks so much to the amazing St. Patrick’s Day Parade and Festival committee for working hand in hand with SAR to put on this race using the Parade route course.

We also owe a huge thank you to our sponsors at The Running Shop and The Damion Alexander Team with Long Realty. We truly value your support and contributions to this very successful event.

A big shout and thank you as well to our race timer, Greg Wenneborg with roadrunnerracetiming.com.

The 5K race winners for the ladies in a stellar and close battle were Whitney Penny (17:52), Jori Galles (17:40) and Nicole Pearce (18:30). The master’s winner for the ladies was Line Lauritsen (20:37). On the men’s side of the 5K the top 3 finishers were Max Miller in (16:11), Matt Smith (16:35), and Orlando Velazquez (16:53). The men’s Masters winner was Todd Kornfeld (17:12). Congrats to all! Keep in mind also that these folks had to weave in and out of other participants on this loop course of just over 1 mile per loop, making these fast times that much more impressive!

And lastly, a massive thank you to our amazing group of volunteers which included Caroline Gardiner, Lucas Tyler, Brian Leroy, Jennie Duberstein, Caitlin Vogelsberg, Kelly Mack, Chris Outridge, Wayne Lubis, Noemi Mills, Craig Mills, Donna Gracia, Tia Accetta, Ashley Levy, Agata Orlinski, Connie Lopez, Laura McCann and Stacey Bell.  I apologies to those that I’ve missed in this list.

Until next year, Happy St. Patrick’s Day to everyone!

Steve Outridge

RD, Desert Leprechaun 5K & 1 Mile

obo Southern Arizona Roadrunners