Sabino Canyon One Mile FitKidz Classic 2023 – Race Recap

There is one event I direct every year that puts a giant smile on my face nearly every time I think about it, SAR’s Sabino One Mile FitKidz Classic. Kids aged 12 and under get the full race event experience, for FREE. The morning is all about them and it is awesome. It is amazing to see the littlest ones, especially, make it to the finish line, most smiling from ear to ear! Nearly 250 kids were registered and just over 150 came out and ran on a beautiful morning in the magnificent Sabino Canyon.

We had about 20 volunteers that made this event possible and there’s no way to thank them enough. I apologize for anyone I miss in this list: Kelly Mack, Kathy Barlow, Craig McCarthy, Julie Church, Denise Fall, Chris Fall, Caroline Gardiner, Lucas Tyler, Dave Dixon, Kris Fitzharris, Midge Ochart, Chelsea Carr, Mackenzie Fritz, Alex Rodriguez, Sadie Gladden, Michele Prince, Gary Parcher, and Catie Cuslidge.

A huge thank you to the Forest Service for allowing us to hold this event in such a special location. Thanks as well to the Friends of Sabino Canyon, the Volunteer Naturalists, and Conor from Desert Speed School for having tables at the event and interacting with the kids. 

We also want to make sure to thank Grant and the great folks with RoadRunnerRaceTiming for their timing services.

The top 3 girls were also the first 3 finishers and 4 out of the top 5 finishers! First was Elise Wooley followed by Maria Lopez and Finley Johnson. The boys were led by Christian Higgins followed by Owen Deblois and Parker Hudson. These peeps were awarded with a cool Sabino FitKidz medal in addition to their finisher ribbons.

Congrats to all of the age group winners who should head over to The Running Shop at 3055 N Campbell Ave during their regular business hours to pick up their special Sabino medals (overall winners are removed from age group awards):


0-6: 1st – Miles Maben | 2nd – Jackson Bridgewater | 3rd – Eli Cassidy

7-8: 1st – Juda Lee | 2nd – Timothy Leingang | 3rd – Ayato Yasui

9-10: 1st – Daniel Raehl | 2nd – David Honkonen | 3rd – Graham Martin

11-12: 1st – Connor Beresford | 2nd – Leo Blueskyes | 3rd – Eli Noriega


0-6: 1st – Audra Mortensen | 2nd – Aurora Apodaca | 3rd – Hannah Adams

7-8: 1st – Collins Maben | 2nd – Lorelei Friedmeyer | 3rd – Audrey Lefforge

9-10: 1st – Matilda Knotts | 2nd – Charlotte Reasoner | 3rd – Adelyn Beresford

11-12: 1st – Julianna Rothman | 2nd – Lillian Bridgewater | 3rd – Isabelle Lefforge

We will see everyone at the next FitKidz event (see for the schedule) and at next year’s Sabino Canyon One Mile FitKidz Classic!

Steve Outridge

Race Director