Dave’s Run for ALS 2024 – Race Recap

Dave’s Run 2024 Race Recap

It was a magical morning today for what I believe to be the 24th running of Dave’s Run for ALS. This year we made a bold move to change from the 5k & 10K combination we had done the previous few years and replaced them with an 8K course. Why did we make this decision? For year’s SAR and The Running Shop/Mizuno Grand Prix series had one 8K course on its calendar, the Jim Click Run & Roll race. However, due to myriad factors at the U of A, in 2023 the Jim Click Run &Roll changed over to a 5K. SAR really wanted to keep an 8K on its annual schedule and Dave’s Run for ALS stepped up to the challenge.

And so, this year about 220 people participated in the 8K and FitKidz and Family Mile and a great time was had by all.

Major congrats go out to our winners. On the men’s side, the win was taken by Max Miller (27:16), followed by Jose Delgado (27:38) and Raul Del Bosque (28:09). On the women’s side, the top 3 spots were taken by Jori Galles (29:38), Billie Lubis (32:52) and Krista Germoth (35:19). Congrats as well to the Men’s and Women’s Master’s Title winners, stalwarts Robert Rozetko (31:06) and Janet Holland (35:26).

A huge thank you to our sponsors, The Running Shop, TMC, Yoga Six, The Damion Alexander Team with Long Realty and eeges. We also greatly appreciate the work of our amazing timer, Greg Wenneborg with RoadrunnerRaceTiming. 

A major thank you as well to all of our amazing volunteers, without which we would not be able to hold these events. I’m sure I will inadvertently miss some folks, but thank you to Chris and Denise Fall, Michelle Hawk, Lucas Tyler, my incredible wife Kelly Mack (who even ran Saturday packet pickup for us while her husband was off running 25 miles through the desert at the OP Endurance Events), Midge Ochart, Gary Giese, Dave Dixon, Craig and Noemi Mills, Gina Nelson, Lauren Reasoner, Steve Felde, Agata Orlinski, Amairani Garcia, Ashley Levy, Connie Lopez, Craig McCarthy, Mackenzie Fritz, Chris Outridge, Susan Alexander, Joyce Kelly, Michelle Nolen, and Elle Steiner.

The largest of our 7 teams this year was The Workout Group. Congrats to WOG and we will be in touch about getting them their prize of $150 eegees party. 

Our running community here in the Old Pueblo is simply remarkable, and I’m grateful to be a part of this family. You all inspire me and it gives me great joy to put on these events for us to all come together, enjoy each other’s company, raise money for great causes, and do something we love to do.

Until next year,

Steve Outridge

Race Director, Dave’s Run for ALS

obo Southern Arizona Roadrunners